Courageous Love by Susan K. Marlow
Literary Pursuits

Review: Courageous Love

Courageous Love by Susan K. Marlow

My all-time favorite book series has got to be the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I was first introduced to them when my mother checked them out at the library to read to us at bedtime before I started school. The problem was, one chapter a night just wasn’t enough. I couldn’t wait to learn to read. Just as soon as I started 1st grade I took off reading in a big hurry. And so, the summer between 1st grade and 2nd grade (at age 7) I read the entire Little House series. I really did! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read the series since then.

Author Susan Marlow, on the other hand, found the Little House books to be somewhat of a drag. She likes lots of action. She admits that she skipped sections to get to the exciting parts. She loved the conflict between Laura and Nellie. I can see her point… and I expect I probably did the same thing as a young reader. That may be why I’ve enjoyed re-reading them over the years, to savor more of the details as an adult.

So what do the Little House books and Susan’s Circle C books have in common? Actually, more than you might think. The time period is approximately the same, though the setting is completely different. The heroines are spunky and brave, which I love. But my favorite thing about both series is how the heroine grows up over the course of the books. I know I would have loved the Circle C books if they had been around when I was growing up.

Circle C Beginnings

Chronologically, the Andi Carter books start with Circle C Beginnings when Andi is 6 years old. (Here is my review of that series.)

Circle C Stepping Stones

They are followed by the Circle C Stepping Stones books when Andi is 9 years old. (These have just come out, so I haven’t read them yet. I hope to share a review a little later on.)

Circle C Adventures

Susan’s original series, Circle C Adventures, take place when Andi is 12 years old.

Circle C Milestones

Then the final mini-series about Andi is Circle C Milestones in which she is 14-18 years old.

I just read the last book in the series, Courageous Love. Like every other book in the series, it includes plenty of action and adventure, as well as a touch of romance.  I appreciate how each book includes important life lessons. The theme of this particular title is “courage.” It’s a very satisfying coming-of-age conclusion to the series.

You can read an excerpt of Courageous Love here. Also, Susan offers free literature study guides to go along with the books, which makes them great for a homeschool elective.

Susan blogs at Andi Carter’s Blog, sometimes as Andi (the character) and sometimes as Mrs. M (the author). She often shares bonus stories and behind-the-scenes glimpses into Andi’s life as well as the writing process.

One Comment

  • Sheila @ Making the Most of Every Day

    I love the Little House books too! Can you believe that I never read them as a child? The first time I read them was when I read them to my children. I had watched the TV show…dubbed in Italian!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.