A Prairie Devotional by Wendi Lou Lee
Literary Pursuits

If You Like Little House on the Prairie

My all-time favorite book series has got to be the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I was first introduced to them when my mother checked them out at the library to read to us at bedtime before I started school. The problem was, one chapter a night just wasn’t enough. I couldn’t wait to learn to read.

Obligatory Disclosure: This post includes affiliate links which means I might make a small commission if you click through and end up buying something.

Just as soon as I started 1st grade I took off reading in a big hurry. And so, the summer between 1st grade and 2nd grade (at age 7) I read the entire Little House series.

That was just about the time the Little House on the Prairie TV series first started airing. However, we didn’t have a TV in those days, so I never got to see the show when it was originally on.

It’s probably a good thing. I would have been so disappointed in how nothing-like-the-books it was. Later, in my twenties, when I finally had the opportunity to watch the show in re-runs I just had to accept that it was a fun “pioneer theme” story loosely based on the characters in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books.

Recently I had the opportunity to review A Prairie Devotional by Wendi Lou Lee who was one of the twins who played Baby Grace on the TV series.

I’m not a huge fan of devotional books but I decided to give this one a try. I ended up loving it. Each entry includes a tie-in to a particular episode on the television series, plus a experience from Wendi’s real life, both as a child actress and in her adult life, as well as relevant scripture. I wasn’t familiar with Wendi before reading this book, but I appreciated hearing how God has worked in her life.

A Prairie Devotional is a beautiful hardback book with rustic illustrations and a ribbon marker. It would make a lovely gift, particularly tucked in a basket with a country-style mug and a box of tea, or perhaps a scented candle and a journal.

As I was reading through the devotional book I realized that I had never watched the series straight through in order. We own the complete series on DVD and the girls had watched the whole thing when they were younger, but I never had.

Lyle never had watched it either, which didn’t surprise me, so I asked him if he would mind putting it in our DVD rotation and watching it with me. He was agreeable so we’ve been watching an episode or two each evening lately. Yes, it’s cheesy and somewhat melodramatic but it’s been kinda fun.

Needless to say, I’ve been drawn to any biographies, spin-offs, or other books inspired by the Little House series. Over the years, with extensive reading I’ve come to realize that the books were actually not all that close to Laura’s real life either. Closer than the TV series, no doubt, but still very much fictionalized.

I’ll be sharing a Little House book list soon with some of the titles I’ve read and recommend.

Which do you prefer? The TV series or the books? Or have you seen/read both?

Previous Posts about Laura Ingalls Wilder

7 Comments

I look forward to reading your comments. Thanks for joining in the conversation! ~Karla

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: